Posted by: pckatie | August 8, 2012

Peace Corps Kick Off — Disneyland Style!

Let me just begin by saying that I have always been so grateful for the wonderful people I am lucky to call my friends.  This past weekend, however, they outdid themselves in awesomeness.  You could say that my friends and I are Disneyland lovers, and that would be putting it lightly (especially for some of us…ahem Lin….) So naturally we decided that we needed to make one more Disneyland trip before I leave for Colombia!  What I didn’t know was that there was a surprise in the works.  When we arrived in LA on Friday night my best friend Taylor who moved to Oregon last year was waiting for me and was going to spend the weekend at Disneyland with us!  In addition, we would all be wearing matching shirts with Minnie and Mickey on them that read, “Katie’s Peace Corps Kick Off Krew 2012” except for mine which said, “Colombia or Bust, Peace Corps Here I Come!”  Even the boys were troopers and wore these babies all day! Are you jealous yet?

It was such a great weekend and I was so happy to spend some time with my friends as my time left in the states is winding down (18 days!).  My best friend Lindley also got herself, me, and Taylor necklaces that are the shape of Arizona with a heart in the middle so no matter where we all end up we can always remember our home where we made such a lasting friendship.  It is comforting to know that when I come home in a few years, so much will have changed for everyone, but our friendship will always remain.  Anyone who knows me will tell you I have a difficult time sharing feelings..or really carrying on any sort of serious conversation..but I hope all of my friends know just how much they mean to me and how thankful I am to have them all in my life.

I am so excited for what’s to come, not just in my own adventure, but for all of my friends and our futures.

Until next time…. paz y amor.

“Don’t be dismayed at goodbyes, a farewell is necessary before you can meet again and meeting again, after moments or lifetimes, is certain for those who are friends.”

Listening to: The Head and the Heart- Rivers and Roads
Responses

  1. Katya, this nearly brought me to tears. You will be missed terribly the next few years, but I am so excited for this adventure you are about to embark on 🙂 I love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

