Posted by: pckatie | June 22, 2012

2 Months!

It has been two months since I have updated here (time flies!) and I have just over two months until I leave for Colombia!  I know I said I was going to try and update this more regularly to get in the habit before I leave, but there hasn’t been much going on that is Peace Corps related!  I received an email a few weeks ago that a dental hold had been placed on my account and shortly after I got a letter in the mail with an explanation (why Peace Corps feels the need to send everything electronically AND hard copy I will never know…)  It informed me that my dental paperwork was over a year old and therefore needed to be completed again before they will issue me a plane ticket.  I quickly burst into a semi dramatic panic attack as my insurance situation is a little weird right now.  I have always had excellent insurance since I have always been on my parents plan (thanks Mom and Dad!).  Last year when I got my job teaching, however, I went onto my own less than stellar/bottom of the line/strip mall dentist insurance plan.  To make matters worse, this insurance plan ended effective my last day of school….back in May.  Lucky for me, my ever prepared parents had kept me on their insurance as a secondary plan and I was able to go to the dentist and get all of my forms completed (which was just as big of a hassle as the first time around).  Thankfully all I needed was a cleaning and no additional work to be done (pat myself on the back for regular flossing!).

Nothing else new on the PC front.  I have heard from a few more people that will be in the group of us going to Colombia in August, I think we are up to 12 people.  If you are out there and receive an invite to Colombia leaving in August check out our Facebook group at http://www.facebook.com/groups/373736749315594/ or just search Peace Corps Colombia (August 2012)!

I had a great end of the school year and it has been really nice to have some downtime.  My first year of teaching was wonderful, albeit just as hard as everyone said it would be.  I had a hard time saying goodbye to my little kiddos (tears were shed from both parties…) but I feel good about what they have learned this year and I know they will do amazing things with their lives.  I went on a cruise to the Bahamas with my family, took a short trip to Southern California to visit family, and am planning a trip to Seattle and one last Disneyland visit in July and August.  Other than that I will be working on finding somewhere to store my millions of boxes of teaching supplies, tutoring and babysitting, packing up/selling all of my stuff, spending time with friends and family, and spending endless hours on Rosetta Stone trying to brush up on those long forgotten Spanish skills!  I have technically made a small dent in gathering stuff to pack (at least enough that when people start asking if I have started packing I can say, “Yes of course!!”.  Here is what I have (basically I bought one pair of shoes I found on sale like 3 months ago… then started piling stuff people gave me on top of them… i.e. toothbrush from the dentist, sewing kit from my grandma…):

I hope to update sometime soon with my packing list (if I ever get one together…) and more news as I get closer to departure!  9 weeks!

Until next time…. paz y amor.

Responses

  1. It’s never too early to think about the third goal. Check out Peace Corps Experience: Write & Publish Your Memoir.


Leave a Reply

Categories

