Posted by: pckatie | April 22, 2012

Daydreaming and Researching

I would say it’s a bit of a mixed blessing receiving your invitation a full 7 months before you are scheduled to depart for service.  It is wonderful in that you have plenty of time to get your affairs in order, prepare yourself, and spend time with family and friends.  It is a little difficult, however, to continuously remind yourself that you have half a year before you are actually going anywhere.  Currently I have about 4 and a half months left before I leave.  I have submitted all of the materials that were in my invitation packet (passport and visa applications, vaccination information, etc.)  As of right now there is not much else for me to do!

I still have about a month and a half of school left and as always the weeks are packed.  This week I am taking my first graders on a field trip to the zoo, which as my first field trip as a teacher should be interesting.  Following that we have field day, end of year benchmark assessments, awards ceremonies, and that will pretty much wrap up the year!  It is unbelievable how quickly this year has gone by.  I have been so fortunate to work at the school I do where I have such an amazing support system in the administration team and my coworkers.  I will be sorry to leave them (and don’t even want to THINK about saying adios to my little kiddos), but I am so excited for what my future holds!

As far as the Peace Corps, right now I spend much of my free time daydreaming about Colombia and doing some research.  I picked up some books about Colombia and am making my way through those.  I got a few travel guides as well as some Colombian history books and one culture book.  I am also doing some pretty serious blog stalking of the volunteers who are already in Colombia.  If any of you come across this post, lets just call it research rather than stalking 🙂

I have come across a few more invitees that are apart of the same group as I am, and we are all on the lookout for others! Again, if you receive an invite to Colombia leaving in August check out our Facebook group at http://www.facebook.com/groups/373736749315594/ or just search Peace Corps Colombia (August 2012)!

Until next time, paz y amor.

Leave a Reply

Categories

