Posted by: pckatie | December 18, 2011

The Waiting Game

It has been far too long since I have updated this blog, but as I have said all along I wanted to keep this blog focused on my Peace Corps preparation and experience, and there hasn’t been much (or any) news lately!  The last time I spoke with my placement officer he let me know that my application had been reactivated and basically I am an invitee with out a country.  I will hear from them by March (he said likely before) with a new placement.  I am being considered for a position in primary education as opposed to youth development as I was before I had any teaching experience, and I am being considered for placement in countries worldwide.    Until I hear from them there is nothing for me to do except wait.

It is a strange feeling having nothing to do but wait.  It is such a contradiction to everything else in my life.  At work things seem to be speeding by and I am always one step behind because there is just an endless mountain of things to be done.  Also, with the holidays quickly approaching I have had so much to do in preparation for that both at home and at school which only makes time move even faster.

Then on the Peace Corps side of things, there is absolutely nothing I can be doing.  I am already invited, I am just waiting for a placement.  It makes me feel a little helpless and very restless.  On top of those feelings, I am a little anxious as things did not work out the first time around.  I am really taking a risk in putting my heart on the line again hoping to make this dream come true.  I am so deeply committed to this, it is a risk I am ready and willing to take.

I am thankful that I was told I would hear by March as that is the latest I could really wait to hear before having to either commit to staying at my current job or applying for a new job for the next school year.  Keeping my fingers crossed that date does not get pushed back!

So unfortunately, that is all the news I have for now.  Believe me I will post the second I hear any Peace Corps related news.  For now I have just two more days of school before a much needed winter break.  I am looking forward to spending some quality time with my family and friends and enjoying all the things I love so much about the holidays.  I hope that everyone has a wonderful holiday season and wish you all the blessings in the New Year.

Paz y amor, Katie.

P.S. I just wanted to include a quick thank you to everyone who has made a donation this holiday season whether monetary or just donated your time.  I am working at a school with very low income students and it has really helped to remind me what the holidays are all about.  It is so important to share what we have, no matter what that might be.  Many of my students received gifts from the Salvation Army Christmas Angel program and it is such a blessing for them.  These kids deserve the world and many of their families just can’t afford to provide much for them, especially at Christmas time.   Many of my kiddos have very little, but they do have a lot of love, and that is something we can all learn a little from.  Merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

