Posted by: pckatie | September 18, 2011

Rosetta Stone, Disagreements, and PC Journals

I am feeling like I haven’t done a great job keeping up with this blog recently (for obvious reasons at first, and now for a lack of new information) but I really want to make an effort to keep it up so I can stay in touch with all of the PC friends I have made through this process and stay in the habit of updating.

In terms of my application, nothing has changed (as I presume it will not for the next 6 months).  I am currently considered an invitee with no country.  As I mentioned in my last post I am being considered for departures in the July-September 2012 timeframe and my sector has changed from community/youth development to primary education.  I am excited about that switch because that is where I am most experienced and what I am most passionate about.  From what I understand there is a good chance I would work teaching primary teachers and then working in classrooms to help teachers implement new teaching methods.  It is going to be a long 6 months of waiting for now.  The first time around it was hard to wait but while I was waiting I had lots of paperwork to do and hoops to jump through.  Now, I am already considered an invitee, I just have to sit back and wait for a country. 

I have run into a bit of a wall with my parents that I hadn’t expected.  I assumed that since they were fine with me joining the Peace Corps last year, they would still be fine with it this year.  They were as devastated as I was when my invitation was withdrawn due to budget cuts and I thought they would be happy to celebrate with me when I shared the news that my application had been reactivated.  Boy, was I wrong!  My mom has said that she is still a little worried about it (no more than she was the first time around) but will support me in whatever I want to do.  My dad on the other hand has basically flat out said he can’t support it this time around.  Of course he has good intentions and always has my best interest in mind.  He believes that the Peace Corps will look bad on a resume, and has always held this belief.  Now that I have a year of teaching on my resume, he thinks it will destroy my chances of getting a teaching job upon my return to the states.  He thinks it will look like I didn’t like teaching and ran off on an adventure.  I am very open minded and I can see the possibility that some principals might hold that same belief (my dad is a principal).  However I also believe there are principals out there that would look highly upon the Peace Corps experience.  I think that I would be much happier at a school working with a principal who embraces such experiences and for that reason I am not worried about it.  I actually think that my chances of getting a job with one year of teaching in the states and two years in the Peace Corps are better than they would have been had I left on my original departure and returned with ONLY foreign volunteer experience. 

I am planning to sit down with my parents to talk things over sometime in the next few weeks.  This is something that is obviously very important to me.  My mom mentioned that of course I am an adult and they can’t actually forbid me from doing something.  She is right, but I respect my parents and I don’t see myself ever doing something that I knew one of them was 100%  against.  I would worry about damaging my relationship with my parents and that is a risk I could never take.  I also think I would have a hard time pushing through some of the hardships during service if I knew that I didn’t have my parents full support.  I hope that after we discuss it in more depth I can regain my dad’s support.  He is much more traditional and conservative than I am, and I can’t put into words how much I appreciate the fact that he has supported this decision in the first place I know it was a stretch for him (even worse than when I went vegetarian a few years back!).

In other news, I have started working on Rosetta Stone again.  If you have been reading for awhile you might remember my dilemma in purchasing Rosetta Stone about 6 months ago.  I knew that level one would be too basic for me, but I wasn’t sure if I would need level 2 or 3.  I ended up purchasing the entire set (6 levels).  I started from level one because I figured since I have it I might as well use it and get the hang of the program before I got into the harder material.  I got almost through level one (I was student teaching at  the time and was very busy!).  Then I found out I wasn’t going to be going to Nicaragua and it was hard for me to continue using it as it felt pointless.  Recently I picked back up on using it but because of my long break I am still on level one!  It is much too easy so I think I might skip ahead to level 2 or 3 and see if that is more appropriate.  It is very time consuming but I do think that it works!  I will be interested to see how I feel about it when I get into matierial that is completley new for me (probably level 6).

Another habit I have picked back up is reading Peace Corps Journals……OBSESSIVELY.  Not quite as bad as when I first started this journey becuase I have much less free time now, but whenever I do have a minute that is how I spend it.  I have only looked at the recent Nicaragua journals once or twice becuase it is still a little difficult to think about the fact that I should be there with them right now sharing those experiences. 

That is all for now, if you are still reading I am impressed, that was a novel!!

Until next time (hopefully soon!)……. paz y amor.

Leave a Reply

Categories

