Posted by: pckatie | August 28, 2011

Unstoppable

It has been 3 whole months since the day my world came crashing down around me when I received a phone call that I would not be going to Nicaragua or serving in the Peace Corps.  I can honestly say that a week hasn’t gone by since that day that I haven’t cried for the lost opportunity and my destroyed dreams.  Tomorrow morning I am supposed to be leaving for Washington D.C. and heading out the following day for Nicaragua.

I considered myself strong and resilient because I got right back up and moved on even though I felt defeated and broken hearted.  I got a job teaching first grade in a low income Spanish speaking neighborhood and I absolutely love each of my students and look forward to going to work each day.  But I can’t help feel that something is missing.  I know that I have the potential to make a difference in this world and that there is so much I want to experience and be a part of.

Then it hit me.  Serving in the Peace Corps has been a dream of mine for years.  I worked hard to make that dream a reality.  I believe that life is what you make of it, and I am going to make my life extraordinary.  I believe I have something valuable to contribute by serving in the Peace Corps and I believe I have a lot to learn from the experience.  I am going to fight for what I believe in.  I am going to do anything in my power to take back my dreams.  I am going to serve in the Peace Corps.

I have contacted every number and email address I can think of at the Peace Corps offices and I am in the process of gathering information on how I can get back in the process and what my timeline would look like.  I will be regularly updating this blog documenting my journey towards Peace Corps service….again 🙂  If I can’t make it happen, at least I will know that I gave it everything that I had and never regret giving up too easily.

I hope some of my old readers are still out there, I have always found the support of the Peace Corps family so helpful.  Wish me luck.

It’s good to be back….until next time, paz y amor.

“You find your faith has been lost and shaken
You take back what’s been taken
Get on your knees and dig down deep
You can do what you think is impossible
Keep on believing, don’t give in
It’ll come and make you whole again.”

Responses

  1. I was nominated to leave this past June 2011. Due to medical clearance, I didn’t make my departure. World came crashing down pretty much describes it. I had already moved out of my apartment, put my stuff in storage, got 4 wisdom teeth removed, bought a plane ticket for a 1.5 month trip so I could travel one last time before settle down with Peace Corps. So needless to say, knowing that I was not able to leave after all that was one of the most devastating thing I have ever experience. I am sorry you also had to go through that.

    I intended to only stay at my parents for 3 weeks before flying out. It has been 3 months now. I am still working toward leaving again, and Peace Corps has been very accepting. So I do think that you will get another chance to be a part of PC again. The placement office is a good place to start contacting.

    Good luck!

  2. With a small budget, and I’ll describe some of them myself, and don’t make assumptions that installers
    or subcontractors will understand what’s to go where. I am sorry for the long, long delay in posting. In my 1952 ranch next to the tub and angled lines forming huge triangles were placed around the mirror and pink on the inside of your bookshelf. On the other hand though, they also gives you ideas according to your kitchen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

