Posted by: pckatie | April 4, 2011

About Nicaragua!

I have been doing some pretty serious research since the second I received my invitation and there is too much information to share everything.  Still, I wanted to share some information about Nicaragua, so I compiled some of the basic facts I found interesting to share here!  Keep in mind all of this information was gathered from materials given to me by the Peace Corps and on the internet, not from personal experience.  I also posted this as a page on my blog so it will stay where everyone can see it!

I will be training for the first three months and living with a family near Jinotepe.  After that I will recieve my site placement which will be my home for the remaining two years!

Nicaragua is a country in Central America, bordered by both the Caribbean Sea and the North Pacific Ocean (though the Caribbean coast is largely uninhabited).  Nicaragua is the largest country in Central America, but the least densely populated.  Nicaragua is home to a rich culture, abundant volcanoes, lakes, and rivers, and a wide variety of plant and animal species. Nicaragua is a land of turbulent history and social conflict and its people are striving to overcome the after-effects of dictatorship, civil war and natural disasters, all of which have made it the second-poorest country in the Western Hemisphere after Haiti.

Fun Facts:

Population: 5,495,369 (over 1/4 of the population lives in the capital city, Managua)

Total Area: 129,494 km(Roughly the size of New York)

Official Language: Spanish

Currency: 1 US Dollar = 22 Nicaraguan Cordobas

Average Temperatures and Rainfall (basically it is the same temperature year round…):

January: 26.30°C / 79.30°F

June: 26.90°C / 80.40°F

Annual Rainfall: 1274mm / 50.2″ 

Food:

As a result of the endemic poverty in Nicaragua, most Nicaraguans’ daily diet consists of gallo pinto, a mixture of red beans and rice fried in vegetable oil, which might be accompanied by corn tortillas, cabbage salad, a small amount of meat or chicken, or locally made salty cheese.  Other common foods are eggs, dairy products, meats, a variety of indigenous fruits and vegetables, and foods made with corn (e.g., tortillas, nacatamales, and pinolillo, a popular beverage made with ground corn and cocoa).

Responses

  1. So exciting for Nicaragua!!! I was just there for Spring Break (Montilimar Beach on the western coast), and it was absolutely beautiful!

    As for the vegetarianism thing, thats exactly why I am adding meat back into my diet. I’m not exactly thrilled about it, but I know in many cultures it is extremely rude to refuse foot, especially meat. I want to be able to fully immerse myself in the culture and not commit any faux-paus that could cause trouble, so that includes eating meat again. It’s just so weird to me, after this long!

    It’s awesome to see someone else for Central/South America in my time frame! Maybe I could end up in Nicaragua as well! Just need medical to hurry up… I’m sending good vibes there to hope the process will speed up. Though with the likely government shutdown, it’s probably only going to take longer…


Leave a Reply

Categories

