Posted by: pckatie | April 1, 2011

INVITATION TO NICARAGUA!!!

Yesterday I was enjoying my day at Disneyland with my mom and while waiting in line for Thunder Mountain Railroad I felt my phone vibrate.  I opened a text from my sister with a picture of a package that had just been delivered from UPS and I nearly screamed with excitement.  I proceeded to share with my mom (and based on my level of excitement and as a result the volumne of my voice, with everyone else in line for the ride) that my Peace Corps invitation packet had arrived!  Unfortunately I was going to have to make a tough call.  I could call home right then and have my dad and sister open it and tell me where I would be spending the next two years of my life, or I could wait nearly 24 hours until they arrived in California and open it myself.  I chose to wait.

Today (after a long morning of waiting) they arrived around 1:00pm.  After a quick (very quick!) hello I looked at my dad expectantly.  He asked if there was something I was waiting for and I gave him an annoyed look which prompted him to hand me the package I have been waiting to recieve since I started the application process last July.

I opened it up and on the front page I found the following information:

Country: Nicaragua

Program: Community Environmental Education

Job Title: Environmental Educator

Orientation: August 30, 2011

Pre-Service Training (in communities near Jinotepe, Nicaragua): August 31, 2011-November 18, 2011

Service Dates: November 21, 2011-November 22, 2013

There is a ton of information in the big blue envelope including five or six folders of paper work, three books, and packet for my family.  From what I have skimmed over in the last few minutes I will be living in a small town working at three schools in classrooms of 30-45 students teaching environmental education, building gardens and compost systems, and starting community and youth groups when I am not at school.  I will probably have electricity (with frequent outages) and probably have potable water from a pipe system or a well most of the time.  I will likely take bucket baths and most volunteers have a latrine at their home.  I will live with a host family for the entire three months of training, and then the first six weeks in site.  After that I might continue to live with a host family or move into my own small home if there is something available.  One thing I was very excited to see is that one of the main staples of the diet is gallo pinto (a rice and bean dish) that I fell in love with when I studied abroad in Costa Rica, along with lots of indiginous fruits and some vegetables.  So I am less worried about starving to death now (although I also read they eat guinea pigs and boas?). 

I have a lot of research to do but after the last few hours of research I have decided to accept the invitation to serve in Nicaragua.  I am really happy that I was able to be with all of my family to open the invitation because it was really reasuring to have that support and enthusiasm from the people that I love.  I am so excited and I can’t wait to begin this chapter of my life.

I should be posting more frequently as I find out more information, begin preparing, etc.  I believe I am one of the first people to recieve an invite for my training group (I know of one other person) which is not uncommon since it is five months out.  I have started a Facebook group for our training group (Nica 57) so I will post that on here periodically so that as people start getting invites they can join the group.  If you are a member of Nica 57 you can join the group here.Also I have only shared the fact that I was applying to the Peace Corps with a few close friends because I wanted to wait to make it public until it was official.  I am linking this blog to my Facebook and emailing it to my family so that I am sure everyone has it and has a chance to subscribe if they want to before I leave for service.

Congrats to everyone else who has been recieving invitations I am so excited for you all.  Until next time, paz y amor.

Responses

  1. Congrats on your invite to Nicaragua! I was just invited to Rwanda! Yay for Invite week!! 😀

  2. Congratulations. I have a friend named Thayer in Peace Corps Nicaragua, and she loves it. You’re gonna have a great time! Drop me a line if you’re ever interested in visiting El Salvador while you’re down here; I’ll show you around. Congrats again, and good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

