Posted by: pckatie | January 15, 2011

These Are a Few of My Favorite Things…

1. 4am mysterious emails that say “Peace Corps Online Toolkit Update”

2. Rushing to the computer to check what has been updated

3. Phone calls from out of state area codes (preferably a DC area code)

4. New blog updates on my favorite PCV blogs

5. Emails from anyone that works for the PC

Lucky for me I got to experience one of my favorite things the day before yesterday!  As those of you who follow my blog religiously (I know you’re out there!) know, I recently got medical clearance.  I was patient for all of two days before I emailed my recruiter to ask if there is anything I should be doing or if I just need to wait to be contacted.  In true Peace Corps fashion of course he told me to be patient and wait to hear from Washington DC. 

After a few days of crazy blog reading trying to find out how long it takes on average to hear from a placement officer, I got an email with the subject “Peace Corps Application Follow Up”!  The email was from a Volunteer Placement and Assessment Assistant at the Community and Youth Development desk at PC headquarters.  Basically the email said they need my final transcript showing my degree conferred, my teaching certification, and an updated resume. 

As I read through the email and began jumping to conclusions I panicked thinking my application could not move forward until these items were received which would be a HUGE slow down considering I don’t graduate until May (goodbye June nomination!)  As I continued reading I saw “Note: Not receiving your transcript and teaching certification will not hinder your application from moving forward in the process as long as we receive an updated resume.” 

Whew!  I still wasn’t sure, however, if I can receive an invitation before those things are submitted so I emailed her back with that question as well as submitted my updated resume.  Does anyone know if you can receive an invitation before these things are submitted?  I am sure she will get back to me but I wish I didn’t have to wait all the way until Tuesday! 

I went to REI the other day because I enjoy pretending I actually have an invitation and need to start buying stuff (please don’t judge me!).  I was trying on a bunch of different backpacks when an employee came over and pointed out I was trying on men’s backpacks.  He thought it was pretty funny.  He asked what I was doing and when I explained he thought that was pretty funny too.  I was glad I could brighten this guys day with my silly antics.  As silly as it was my parents had fun as well and my dad pointed out that it would be a good idea to start looking and things so I have an idea of what I am looking for/need if/when I do get an invitation (i.e. I need a womens backpack.)

On an unrelated note, has anyone seen the new show on ABC called “Off the Map”?  It started last Wednesday and I think it might be interesting for PC applicants.  It is a group of 4 or 5 American doctors who set up a clinica in the middle of the jungle in South America.  I watched the first episode and it was pretty funny plus it seems like they are facing some of the same experiences a PCV would experience. 

Thats all for now on the PC front.  I start student teaching on Tuesday in a kindergarten classroom of 13 English language learners and 10 early entry students (meaning they are 4 instead of 5 years old).  It will be challenging but I am excited to start!

Until next time..paz y amor.

Responses

  1. I graduate in May and have a June invite so it’s not out of the question! Although I leave 5 for staging 5 days after graduation so I’m not sure how sending them transcripts is going to go, but I’m rolling with it 🙂

  2. Yay backpacks and contact from placement! I saw that Off the Map episode too and was pretty stoked about it, though I have no idea how accurate it was 🙂 Wait till after you get your invitation to order stuff, you can get a nice discount from some companies!

  3. I stumbled upon your blog while looking for info on how long it normally takes between medical clearance and placement, made me laugh! I was medically cleared about a month ago (too late for when I was nominated) sitting around waiting to hear something! I also appreciate the 3am emails, and have seen off the map, have your read anything about paul farmer that is what the show reminds me of…good luck with your placement!

  4. hey, katie. I’m celeste. I’m from argentina. I know liz and read her blog, so here i am! I want to ask u, have u already know where they send u? Cuold be anyplace around central or south america? Anyway, good luck with everything and it’s nice u say u like latin american people :0) bye

  5. “After a few days of crazy blog reading trying to find out how long it takes on average to hear from a placement officer, I got an email with the subject “Peace Corps Application Follow Up””

    haha I can definitely relate to that… what else am I doing right now? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

