Posted by: pckatie | September 16, 2010

Hello World!

I would like to begin by saying that this is my first ever blog so please bear with me as I learn the in’s and out’s of the wonderful world of blogging.  This is reason number one why I am starting this blog so early in my Peace Corps journey.  I figured it would be easier to get the hang of blogging from my calm, quiet, air conditioned office where reliable internet is a given rather than waiting until I find myself in a foreign country where I don’t know how to do anything and blogging might make a pretty serious plunge on my priority list.  The second reason I am starting this blog now is because in making my decision to apply to the Peace Corps some of the most valuable information I have gathered has come from blogs of current and returned volunteers.  I am not sure how many people this blog will actually reach but I like to think someday a future Peace Corps applicant can read it and have it be the catalyst that helps them decide to join!  (Idealist?  Who, me?)

As of now the only people I have told that I am applying, or who even know I’m interested for that matter, are my parents, my sister, and my two best friends.  I took a word of advice from another prospective applicant who mentioned that it is wise to treat it similarly to a pregnancy, you might not want to spread the word too early in case, God forbid, something should happen.  As devastating as it would be to find out that for whatever reason I couldn’t join the Peace Corps, I imagine it would be even harder if I then had to go spreading the word to every one and their mother that I told I was joining that I was in fact not going to be going anywhere.

I am not really sure how to end these posts just yet, being my first blog entry ever, so I guess I will just say adios for now…

Leave a Reply

Categories