Posted by: pckatie | August 31, 2013

How Do You Measure a Year in the Life?

“525,600 minutes, 525,000 moments so dear. 525,600 minutes – how do you measure, measure a year? In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee. In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife. In 525,600 minutes – how do you measure a year in the life?”

You might be wondering why I am busting out Broadway hit musicals (as if I need more of a reason than the fact that RENT is awesome)……it’s because Thursday, August 29th 2013 marked ONE YEAR in Colombia for myself and my fellow volunteers in CII-4! In true RENT style, I most certainly can measure this year in love. I love my fellow volunteers, I love my host families, I love my teachers and students, and of course I love Colombia! Just for fun though, I also decided to measure the year more numerically, so take a look at my last year by the numbers (note- due to my site change I have included some numbers from both sites!):

1580-  number of students and teachers I have worked with total
365-  days I have been in Colombia
285-  days since I swore in and began my service
240-  approximate number of times I ate rice while living in Bayunca
142-  days I lived in Bayunca
109-  average real feel temperature on the coast
90-  average temperature on the coast
84-  books I have read (see them here!)
77-  cents it costs to ride the bus ($1.400 pesos)
74-  average humidity in on the coast
40-  average number of students in each of my classes
30-  people in my training class
27-  minutes it takes on the bus to get to school
25-  volunteers still serving here in Colombia
23-  number of primary teachers I worked with in Bayunca
15-  hours I spend teaching each week
14-  vacation days I have used (Peru and Medellin)
13-  primary school teachers I co-teach with in Santa Marta
9-  Colombian beaches I have visited
8-  inches my hair has grown
7-  hours I spend co-planning each week
6-  pairs of sandals destroyed by Colombian sidewalks
5-  liters of water I drink each day
4-  tubes of anti-itch cream I have gone through for bug bites
3-  times I have trimmed my hair on my own with kitchen scissors
2.5- dollars for a typical lunch of meat, rice, lentils, plantain, soup and juice
2-  times I have washed my clothes in a machine
1-  birthday I have celebrated in Colombia
0.5- seconds it takes for the streets to flood when it rains
0- times I have driven a car, blow dried my hair, or seen my family
0- regrets I have about committing two years to this beautiful country

“It’s time now to sing out, though the story never ends, let’s celebrate remember a year in the life of friends.  Remember the love! Measure in love.”

12 months of loving life in Colombia down……here’s to the next 15!

Until next time…..paz y amor.

 

Leaving home one year ago!

Leaving home one year ago!

After one amazing year in Colombia!

After one amazing year in Colombia!

Responses

  1. Well said!!!

  2. Hello!!!
    I just loved your blog and I wanted to know if I can email you or give you a call to talk more about the Columbia program?

  3. You can email me at katiecmccarthy at hotmail . com!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

